Bradley Wright-Phillips 2020 MLS Comeback Player Of The Year 201113 IMG

LAFC and Major League Soccer today announced that LAFC forward Bradley Wright-Philips has been named the 2020 MLS Comeback Player of the Year after making a striking return to his iconic scoring ways in his first season with LAFC. As one of the most prolific goalscorers in MLS history, Wright-Phillips bounced back in 2020 with the Black & Gold, finishing second on the team in goals (8) and assists (6). He became the first player in Club history to register a goal in his first three consecutive games, all during the MLS is Back Tournament in Orlando, and had four goals over a five-game span from Sept. 23-Oct. 11.

The two-time MLS Golden Boot winner and Best XI selection was named Week 13’s MLS Player of the Week for his two-goal performance against Vancouver on September 23 – the honor was the 12th of his MLS career, third-most in league history.

Wright-Phillips still holds the record as the fastest player to reach 100 goals, doing so in just 159 games. In eight seasons in Major League Soccer, the 35-year-old has appeared in 213 regular season matches and currently sits sixth all-time in goals with 116 and his 0.66 goals/90 ranks first for players with at least 85 career MLS goals.

The Comeback Player of the Year award was voted on by MLS club technical staff, media and current MLS players. Below is a breakdown of the voting results:

<strong><u>Comeback Player </u></strong>
<strong><u>Player %</u></strong>
<strong><u>Club %</u></strong>
<strong><u>Media %</u></strong>
<strong><u>Final %</u></strong>
<strong>Bradley Wright-Phillips (LAFC)</strong>
<p>Kevin Molino (MIN)</p>
<p>Milton Valenzuela (CLB)</p>
<p>Florian Valot (NY)</p>
<p>Brek Shea (MIA)</p>
<p>Carles Gil (NE)</p>
<p>Michael Bradley (TOR)</p>
<p>Jaroslaw Niezgoda (POR)</p>

MLS Comeback Player of the Year Winners:

2020: Bradley Wright-Phillips – Los Angeles Football Club
2019: Jordan Morris – Seattle Sounders FC
2018: Gyasi Zardes – Columbus Crew SC
2017: Clint Dempsey – Seattle Sounders FC
2016: Chris Pontius – Philadelphia Union
2015: Tim Melia – Sporting Kansas City
2014: Rodney Wallace – Portland Timbers
2013: Kevin Alston – New England Revolution
2012: Eddie Johnson – Seattle Sounders FC
2011: David Beckham – LA Galaxy
2010: Bobby Convey – San Jose Earthquakes
2009: Zach Thornton – Chivas USA
2008: Kenny Cooper – FC Dallas
2007: Eddie Johnson – Kansas City Wizards
2006: Richard Mulrooney – FC Dallas
2005: Chris Klein – Kansas City Wizards
2004: Brian Ching – San Jose Earthquakes
2003: Chris Armas – Chicago Fire
2002: Chris Klein – Kansas City Wizards
2001: Troy Dayak – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards