LAFC Forward Carlos Vela Named 2019 Landon Donovan MLS MVP

Carlos Vela Named 2019 MLS MVP

LAFC and Major League Soccer announced today that forward Carlos Vela has been named the 2019 Landon Donovan MLS Most Valuable Player. Vela was presented the award during a ceremony at Banc of California Stadium in Los Angeles on Monday, November 4.

Winner of the 2019 MLS Golden Boot presented by Audi, Vela’s record-breaking regular season set a new league-high of 34 goals in 31 games, with a 1.12 goals-per-game average that ranks first in MLS history among players with at least 15 goals in a single campaign. He reached the 20-goal plateau in 20 games – a rate faster than any other player, and his combined 49 goals and assists (34 goals, 15 assists) established yet another new league milestone.

During the regular season, Vela helped LAFC capture the Supporters’ Shield and top seed in the Audi 2019 MLS Cup Playoffs, as the Club set a new all-time points record (72 points), posted the highest-ever goal differential (+48), and tied the single-season team scoring record (85).

Vela’s postseason included two goals and an assist in a 5-3 win over the Galaxy in the Western Conference Semifinals. With 36 total goals in 2019, Vela’s combined regular-season and postseason tally also set a new all-time league best.

His astounding 2019 form won him MVP honors by a landslide, earning nearly 70 percent of the total vote. The Galaxy’s Zlatan Ibrahimovic was the runner-up, while 2018 Landon Donovan MLS MVP and Golden Boot winner Josef Martinez of Atlanta United finished third.

Vela also becomes the first MLS player of Mexican descent to garner the prestigious award, and has the highest career goals total by any Mexican player in MLS history.

The Landon Donovan MLS MVP award has been presented since 1996 to the individual determined by a poll of players, club technical staff and the media to be the most valuable to his club. Below is a breakdown of the voting results for 2019.

<strong>MLS MVP</strong>
<strong>PLAYER %</strong>
<strong>CLUB %</strong>
<strong>MEDIA %</strong>
<strong>FINAL %</strong>
Carlos Vela (LAFC)
Zlatan Ibrahimović (GAL)
Josef Martínez (ATL)
Maxi Moralez (NYC)
Héber (NYC)

All-Time MLS Most Valuable Players:

2019: Carlos Vela – Los Angeles Football Club

2018: Josef Martinez – Atlanta United

2017: Diego Valeri – Portland Timbers

2016: David Villa – New York City FC

2015: Sebastian Giovinco – Toronto FC

2014: Robbie Keane – Galaxy

2013: Mike Magee – Chicago Fire

2012: Chris Wondolowski – San Jose Earthquakes

2011: Dwayne De Rosario – D.C. United

2010: David Ferreira – FC Dallas

2009: Landon Donovan – Galaxy

2008: Guillermo Barros Schelotto – Columbus Crew

2007: Luciano Emilio – D.C. United

2006: Christian Gómez – D.C. United

2005: Taylor Twellman – New England Revolution

2004: Amado Guevara – MetroStars

2003: Preki – Kansas City Wizards

2002: Carlos Ruiz – Galaxy

2001: Alex Pineda Chacón – Miami Fusion

2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards

1999: Jason Kreis – Dallas Burn

1998: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United

1997: Preki – Kansas City Wizards

1996: Carlos Valderrama – Tampa Bay Mutiny

2024 Season Membership

2024 Season Membership

Secure your spot in our priority line for the 2024 season.

Place a deposit today!

Receive The Latest LAFC Developments

Receive The Latest LAFC Developments

Including special invitations and offers, Academy updates, and opportunities to get involved in the community.