About Campeones Cup

Launched in 2018, Campeones Cup is an annual clash between the reigning MLS and LIGA MX Champions.

The 2023 edition of Campeones Cup will be hosted by LAFC at BMO Stadium in Los Angeles. LAFC's opponent will be announced at a later date.

Campeones Cup, together with Leagues Cup, are part of a larger partnership between the two most important soccer leagues in North America, MLS and LIGA MX. Launched in 2018, this partnership is rooted not only in the on-field rivalry, designed to strengthen the sport in the region, but by a true spirit of collaboration, with a focus on sharing best practices and being a force for positive change in the local communities of both leagues.

MLS leads three wins to one in Campeones Cup history against LIGA MX. Tigres UANL conquered Toronto FC in the inaugural 2018 edition, Atlanta United defeated Club América 3-2 in the exciting 2019 match, the Columbus Crew resoundingly defeated Cruz Azul 2-0 in 2021, and New York City FC won a lively match against Atlas FC 2-0 in 2022.

History of Campeones Cup

2022: New York City FC 2-0 Atlas FC

2021: Columbus Crew 2-0 Cruz Azul

2020: Cancelled due to COVID-19

2019: Atlanta United FC 3-2 Club América

2018: Toronto FC 1-3 Tigres UANL